Our mission is to promote learning through quality literary experiences for all.


  • Bill Martin, Jr. Picture Book Award: Established in 1996, this award serves to honor internationally renowned Kansas author Bill Martin, Jr., as well as commend outstanding authors/illustrators. It also promotes in young children an appreciation for literature and encourages involvement in promoting quality picture books.

  • KRA Literacy Award-Corporate, Professional and Volunteer: These three annual awards are given to those who encourage literacy as a corporation, as a professional and as a volunteer.

  • KRA Local Council Grant: The KRA Local Council Grants can help you fund special programs and projects.

  • KRA Studies and Research Award: There are many of you who have investigated some teaching aspect. Why not get rewarded for it? Let us know by submitting your action research or formal scientifically based research. If your project was completed in the past two years (after January 1, 2015), you are encouraged to submit your research for consideration for the 2016-2017 KRA Studies and Research Award. Awards are available for both published and unpublished research.The deadline is June 15, 2017.

  • Outstanding Reading Educator Award: The KRA Outstanding Reading Educator Award is given to educators that have made a special contribution or achievement in the area of reading.

  • Sunflower Merit Award-Council: Recognizes local councils for their activities in promoting literacy. CLICK HERE for more information.

  • Rita Shogren Memorial Scholarships for Educators in Graduate School: Two Memorial Scholarships to honor Rita Shogren were awarded on October 4th, 2016, at the KRA Annual Conference in Manhattan, KS. These scholarships were in the amount of $900 and awarded to educators who are enrolling or are enrolled in a graduate studies program at a state university in the field of reading or library media. Eligible recipients held a current valid teaching license and be members of KRA. They demonstrated superb instructional performance and be committed to a career in reading education or library media.


  • Exemplary Reading Program: The Exemplary Reading Program Award recognizes outstanding reading and language arts programs at all grade levels (elementary, middle, and high school). Its purpose is to call the public’s attention to outstanding programs in schools throughout Canada and the United States. Each participating state and provincial council, with an active ERPA committee chair, may choose one winning school a year.

    • Teachers as Researchers Grants: This grant supports classroom teachers who undertake action research inquiries about literacy and instruction. Grants will be awarded up to $4,000, although priority will be given to smaller grants (e.g., $1,000 to $2,000) in order to provide support for as many teacher researchers as possible.

    • Links to Other IRA Awards and Grants: The International Reading Association offers many different opportunities for awards and grants.

Recent forum updates

  • There are no forum topics to display.

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

Website designed and maintained
WordCraft Communications.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software